Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Oxford scientists have contributed to major advances in immunology such as implicating lymphocytes in the immune response (James Gowans), determining the structure of antibodies (Rodney Porter, Nobel Prize 1972), and characterizing leucocyte cell surface molecules (Alan Williams). Oxford has one of the highest concentrations of active immunology researchers in the world, and is rated the top University in the UK in the area of infection and immunity.

Our special forte is top-class basic research in immunological mechanisms and in translating this knowledge into clinical and commercial applications. Areas of strength in basic research include all aspects of lymphocyte function, including the molecular basis of lymphocyte recognition, and regulatory and unconventional T cells. Areas of strength in translational research include mucosal immunology, tumor immunology, autoimmune diseases, therapeutic immunology and vaccines. Immunology research is performed in a number of University Departments and Institutes. These include the Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine, the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences, the Nuffield Department of Clinical Neurosciences, the Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences, the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, Paediatrics and Biochemistry. Institutes include the Weatherall Institute for Molecular Medicine, the Jenner Institute and the Kennedy Institute, which moved to Oxford in 2011. There are strong links between immunologists through regular meetings of the Oxford Immunology Group.

Supervisors in Immunology

Hussein Al-Mossawi

Honorary Research Associate

Daniel C Anthony

Professor of Experimental Neuropathology

Tal Arnon

Associated Professor

Sarah Atkinson

Associate Professor and Honorary Consultant in Paediatrics and Paediatric ...

Rachael Bashford-Rogers

Paul Bowness

Professor of Experimental Rheumatology

Christopher Buckley

Kennedy Professor of Translational Rheumatology and Director of Clinical ...

Martin Burton

Joint Co-ordinating Editor of the Cochrane ENT Disorders Group

Andrew Carr

Head of Department

Alfredo Castello Palomares

Posttranscriptional networks in infection

Alex Clarke

Wellcome Trust Clinical Research Career Development Fellow

Mark Coles

Professor of Immunology

Stephanie Dakin

Associate Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences

Simon Davis

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Gabriele DeLuca

Associate Professor and Director of Clinical Neurosciences Undergraduate ...

Ana Domingos

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Tao Dong

Professor of Immunology

Lucy Dorrell

Susan Dunachie

Omer Dushek

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Lynn Dustin

Professor of Immunology and Virology

Michael Dustin

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Paul Elliott

MRC Career Development Fellow

Paul Fairchild

Ben Fairfax

Consultant in Medical Oncology

Vanessa Ferreira

British Heart Foundation (BHF) Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine

John Frater

Peter Friend

Professor of Transplantation

Marco Fritzsche

Associate Professor and Rosalind Franklin Kennedy Trust Research Fellow

Fiona Powrie FRS

Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences and Director of the Kennedy Institute

Lars Fugger

Professor of Neuroimmunology

Philip Goulder

Professor of Immunology

Mads Gyrd-Hansen

Audrey Gérard

KTRR Senior Research Fellow

Maria Harkiolaki

Principal Beamline Scientist

Joanna Hester

University Research Lecturer

Matthew Higgins

Professor of Molecular Parisitology

Adrian Hill

Lakshmi Mittal and Family Professorship of Vaccinology

Ling-Pei Ho

Associate Professor Respiratory Immunology

Georg Holländer

Hoffmann and Action Medical Research Professor of Developmental Medicine

Mark Howarth

Professor of Protein Nanotechnology

Sarosh Irani

MRC Senior Clinical Fellow | Honorary Consultant Neurologist

Fadi Issa

NIHR Academic Clinical Lecturer

Astrid Iversen

Professor of Virology and Immunology

Rutger J. Ploeg

Professor of Transplant Biology

David Jackson

Professor of Human Immunology

Shisong Jiang

Senior Industrial Fellow

Paul Johnson

Professor of Paediatric Surgery

Luke Jostins

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Dominic Kelly

BRC Consultant in Paediatrics and Vaccinology.

Paul Klenerman

Sidney Truelove Professor of Gastroenterology

Anjali Kusumbe

Group Leader

Teresa Lambe

Associate Professor (OBE)

Petros Ligoxygakis

Professor of Innate Immunology

Raashid Luqmani

Professor of Rheumatology

Masliza Mahmod

Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine

Philippa Matthews

Honorary Consultant in Infectious Diseases & Microbiology

Kim Midwood

Professor of Matrix Biology

Jelena Bezbradica Mirkovic

KTRR Senior Research Fellow

Mathilda Mommersteeg

Associate Professor of Developmental and Regenerative Medicine

Claudia Monaco

Professor of Cardiovascular Inflammation

Jagdeep Nanchahal

Professor of Hand, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Chris O'Callaghan

Udo Oppermann

Professor of Molecular Biology

Jacqueline Palace

Consultant Neurologist

Anant Parekh

Director, Centre for Integrative Physiology

Frances Platt

Head of Department

Sir Andrew Pollard

Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity

Maheshi Ramasamy

Senior Clinical Researcher

Jan Rehwinkel

Professor of Innate Immunology

Arturo Reyes-Sandoval

Paul Riley

BHF Professor of Regenerative Medicine & Chair of Development and Cell Biology

Simon Rinaldi

Associate Professor and MRC Clinician Scientist

David Roberts

Professor of Haematology

Christine S. Rollier

Associate Professor in Vaccinology

Sarah L Rowland-Jones

Stephen Sansom

Associate Professor

Anna Schuh

Director of Molecular Diagnostics

Len Seymour

Professor of Gene Therapies

Peter Simmonds

Professor of Virology

Anna Katharina (Katja) A Simon

Professor of Immunology

Matthew Snape

Associate Professor in Paediatrics and Vaccinology

Sarah Snelling

Associate Professor

Alex Spencer

Dr, Senior Immunologist and Insectary Manager

Peter Taylor

Norman Collisson Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences

Alain Townsend

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Irina Udalova

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Holm Uhlig

Professor of Paediatric Gastroenterology, Group Head / PI and Hon Consultant ...

Anton van der Merwe

Paresh Vyas

Professor of Haematology

Patrick Waters

Co-Director Autoimmune Neurology Diagnostic Laboratory

Richard Williams

Associate Professor

Kathryn Wood

Emeritus Professor of Immunology

Kanmin Xue

Wellcome Trust Clinical Research Career Development Fellow

Wei Zhang

Researcher in Placental Extracellular Vesicles and Pre-eclampsia

Nicole Zitzmann

Professor of Virology & Director of Glycobiology Inst