Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Daniel C Anthony

Professor of Experimental Neuropathology

  • Fellow of Somerville College
  • Honorary Professor, University of Southern Denmark
  • Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society

Daniel Anthony, a specialist in inflammatory disease, leads the Experimental Neuropathology Laboratory at the University of Oxford. As a Fellow of Somerville College and an Honorary Professor at the University of Southern Denmark, he has developed a niche in understanding how systemic inflammation influences the outcomes of both acute and chronic brain injuries and infections. His research interests also focus on the role of circulating extracellular vesicles in the pathogenesis of CNS diseases and the contribution of cytokine production to neuropsychiatric disorders.

Professor Anthony's career began with a Ph.D. from University College London in 1994, after which he joined Professor Hugh Perry in Oxford on a British Biotech Fellowship to explore metalloproteinase expression in the CNS. His work has led to the identification of novel biomarkers for diagnosing disease and predicting progression, leveraging a combination of in vivo biology, molecular biology, immunohistochemistry, MRI and PET imaging, and metabolomics. After a stint at the University of Southampton, where he was a Lecturer in Neurobiology, he returned to Oxford in 2004, where he continues to explore the neurobiology of inflammation with research collaborations throughout the world. In 2015, he was awarded a personal Chair in Experimental Neuropathology, and he was made a Fellow of the British Pharmacological Society in 2020.