Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Oxford has particular strengths in bioinformatics and statistical genetics in the Department of Statistics and the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics, which is part of the Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine.

Groups in these departments have developed many of the methods now used worldwide in genetic association studies in humans and rodent models and in high-throughput DNA sequence analysis. DNA and protein sequence analysis and functional annotation is concentrated in the Department of Statistics and the MRC Functional Genomics Unit. There is a strong tradition of protein structure analysis in several groups in Oxford, notably in the Structural Biology Division of the Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine and the Structural Bioinformatics and Computational Biochemistry Unit in the Department of Biochemistry.

An exciting new development is the Big Data Institutea centre of excellence for the analysis of large and complex data sets for health research aiming to develop, evaluate and apply methods to identify associations between lifestyle exposures, genetic variants, infections and health outcomes.

Researchers in Oxford form part of the MRC Centre for Genomics and Global Health, an international collaboration that integrates genomic and population genetic data with clinical and epidemiological data to understand and combat globally important infectious diseases.

The Deep Medicine Programme of the Oxford Martin School at The George Institute for Global Health applies established and novel techniques in data mining, machine learning and deep learning to complex biomedical datasets to generate insights into complex disease patterns, risk trajectories and treatment effects.

The Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences also has one of the strongest statistical groups in the UK (across all clinical areas) with a particular emphasis on monitoring.

There are many potential researchers in this theme that are not listed here because they are not in the Medical Sciences Division. They can be found in the Departments of StatisticsMathematics, Computer Science, Plant Sciences, and Zoology. Many of these supervisors are associated with relevant Structured DPhil Programmes including Genomic Medicine and Statistics.

Supervisors in Bioinformatics, Statistics and Computational Biology

M Sanni Ali

Senior Researcher in Pharmacoepidemiologic Methods

Esther Becker

Associate Professor of Neurobiology

Rafal Bogacz

Professor of Computational Neuroscience

Cameron Brown

Associate Honorary Professor

Marella de Bruijn

Professor of Developmental Haematopoiesis

Francesca Buffa

Computational Biology and Integrative Genomics

Martin Burton

Joint Co-ordinating Editor of the Cochrane ENT Disorders Group

Alfredo Castello Palomares

Posttranscriptional networks in infection

Mark Coles

Kennedy Trust Senior Research Fellow

Gary Collins

Professor of Medical Statistics and Deputy Director of CSM

Sarah Darby

Professor of Medical Statistics

Kay Davies

Dr Lee's Professor of Anatomy

Antonella Delmestri

Senior Database Manager

Gwenaëlle Douaud

Associate Professor & MRC Career Development Fellow

James Dunford

Senior Research Associate

Omer Dushek

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Terry Dwyer

Professor of Epidemiology, The George Institute UK

Dominic Furniss

University Research Lecturer - Wellcome Trust Intermediate Fellowship

Stephen Goodwin

Professor of Neurogenetics

Stephanie Halford

Senior Research Scientist

Will Herrington

MRC-Kidney Research UK Professor David Kerr Clinician Scientist

Georg Holländer

Hoffmann and Action Medical Research Professor of Developmental Medicine

Saad Jbabdi

Associate Professor

Luke Jostins

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Andrew Judge

Honorary Departmental Professor

Fredrik Karpe

Professor of Metabolic Medicine

Dominic Kelly

BRC Consultant in Paediatrics and Vaccinology.

Morten Kringelbach

Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow

Kirsten Leyland

HONORARY Postdoctoral Epidemiologist

Kim Midwood

Professor of Matrix Biology

Karla Miller

Professor of Biomedical Engineering

Julia Newton

Consultant Rheumatologist

Conrad Nieduszynski

Associate Professor of Cell Biology

Stuart Peirson

Associate Professor

Martin Philpott

Senior Research Associate

Andrew Pollard

Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity

Daniel Prieto-Alhambra

Professor of Pharmaco- and Device Epidemiology

Peter Robbins

Professor of Physiology

Irene Roberts

Professor of Paediatric Haematology

Anindita Roy

Associate Professor of Paediatric Haematology

Stephen Sansom

Group Leader in Computational and Single Cell Genomics

Alan Silman

Professor of Musculoskeletal Health

Peter Simmonds

Professor of Virology

Shankar Srinivas

Professor of Developmental Biology

Phillip Stansfeld

Computational Biochemistry Research Fellow

Simon Stringer

Departmental Lecturer

Francis Szele

Associate Professor of Developmental Biology

Irina Udalova

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Holm Uhlig

Professor of Paediatric Gastroenterology, Group Head / PI and Hon Consultant ...

Tim Vogels

Sir Henry Dale Fellow, Associate Professor

Robin Walters

MRC PHRU Senior Scientist

Fiona Watt

University Research Lecturer

Caleb Webber

Professor of Bioinformatics

Suzannah Williams

Principal Investigator/Research Group Leader; Lead of Ovarian Research for the ...

Krina Zondervan

Professor of Reproductive & Genomic Epidemiology, Co-Director Endometriosis ...