Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content
Analysing the results of an experiment © Rob Judges / Oxford University Images

The Wellcome Trust DPhil in Infection, Immunology and Translational Medicine (IITM) provides integrated training in infection and immunology, and how fundamental research can be translated into benefits for human health. The course offers outstanding opportunities for research in basic mechanisms underlying the pathogenesis of infectious diseases, immune and inflammatory responses to infection, and the development of drugs and vaccines. 

Read the full DPhil in Infection, Immunology and Translational Medicine course information on the University of Oxford admissions website.

The UK government has confirmed that EU students commencing their studies in 2019/20 will continue to have ‘Home’ fee status and pay fees at the home rate for the duration of their course.  For more information please see




The following researchers are affiliated with this programme

Tal Arnon

Kennedy Trust of Rheumatology Research (KTRR) Senior Research Fellow

Alfredo Castello Palomares

Posttranscriptional networks in infection

Ana Domingos

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Omer Dushek

Sir Henry Dale Fellow

Michael Dustin

Professor of Immunology and Wellcome Principal Research Fellow, Director of ...

Philip Goulder

Professor of Immunology

Georg Holländer

Hoffmann and Action Medical Research Professor of Developmental Medicine

Paul Klenerman

Sidney Truelove Professor of Gastroenterology

Craig MacLean

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow

Philippa Matthews

Honorary Consultant in Infectious Diseases & Microbiology

Andrew Pollard

Professor of Paediatric Infection and Immunity

Fiona Powrie FRS

Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences and Director of the Kennedy Institute

Peter Simmonds

Professor of Virology

Irina Udalova

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Application Deadline

Closed to applications for 2019-20 entry.  The next admissions cycle, for entry to Oxford's graduate courses in 2020-21, will commence on 2 September 2019.

College Choice

It is suggested that applicants to the Infection, Immunology and Translational Medicine programme select St Edmund Hall as their college choice.

Information on which colleges accept applicants to this programme can be found here.

Supported by

Wellcome Trust

Further Information

Statement of Provision

IITM students' website