Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Board’s Educational Policy and Standards Committee is responsible for oversight of the curriculum of its taught degree programmes, definition and implementation of its teaching policies, maintenance and enhancement of standards and the conduct of divisional educational reviews.


Chair: Professor David Vaux

Secretary: Jane Dale


Professor Gavin Screaton
Dr Stephanie Halford
Professor Chris Garland
Professor Stuart Ferguson
Dr Michael Bannon
Professor Peter Sullivan
Dr Claire Pulford
Nancy Braithwaite
Dr Maike Glitsch

Student members:

Alexander Grassam-Rowe
Kayla Li

Co-opted members:

Dr Deborah Clarke    
Professor Chris Pugh
Dr Catherine Swales
Professor Robert Wilkins

2019 Meeting Dates

  • 1 March
  • 14 June
  • 29 Nov

Terms of reference

The committee shall be responsible under the Medical Sciences Board for: 

  1. developing educational policy, and teaching and learning strategies;
  2. maintaining oversight of the range of educational provision within the Division;
  3. reviewing the broad policy aspects of proposals for new undergraduate and postgraduate courses, and major changes to existing courses in the context of the Division’s five-year plans and the University;
  4. making recommendations to the Board with regard to new educational initiatives including external collaborations;
  5. maintaining integrated oversight of the organisation, development and delivery of curricula within the Division at both undergraduate and postgraduate level;
  6. responding to consultations and communications on educational policy from within the University and from external bodies such as the GMC and QAA;
  7. keeping under review the arrangements and procedures within units for the assurance and enhancement of educational quality and standards and consistency of practice (where appropriate) with regard to both undergraduate studies (including joint schools) and graduate studies;
  8. keeping under review ways of promoting educational collaboration across the Division;
  9. defining and keeping under review divisional policies in respect of:
    1. access and admissions;
    2. curriculum design and course structure;
    3. teaching, learning, and assessment;
    4. academic and pastoral support and guidance;
    5. provision of learning resources; and
    6. staff development relevant to teaching.
  10. Approving the terms of reference and membership of panels for educational reviews, and to receive and respond to review reports
  11. Receiving the reports of its advisory bodies – the Undergraduate Studies Committee, the Graduate School Committee, the Audit Sub- Committee, – and advice from the Postgraduate Dean. 

To view the current and past agenda/papers, please contact the Chair Professor David Vaux.