Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Oxford University has a long tradition in the study of developmental biology and stem cells.  Current research areas include understanding the basic molecular and cell biological principles that guide early embryonic development including formation of the primary embryonic body axes, studying the movement of cells and molecules by sophisticated real time imaging technology, and the identification of growth factor signalling pathways controlling cell commitment and differentiation.

Multiple model organisms are used including worms, Drosophila, zebrafish and mice. Areas of strength in the stem cell field include hematopoiesis, cardiac and neural stem cells, the generation of disease-specific induced pluripotent stem cell lines and a growing interest in the field of cancer stem cells.  The Oxford Stem Cell Institute (OSCI) serves to foster collaboration between 41 laboratories distributed throughout 17 Departments of the University. Both basic research and clinical Departments are represented within the OSCI, providing significant opportunities for translational research.  Regular term-time seminar series sponsored by the Jenkinson fund and the OSCI facilitate interactions between research groups. In addition, one-day symposia on Developmental Biology and on Stem Cell Research are held each year to facilitate networking between groups.

Supervisors in Developmental Biology and Stem Cells

Aziz Aboobaker

Professor of Comparative and Functional Genomics,Tutorial Fellow, and Dean of ...

Colin J Akerman

Professor of Neuroscience

Esther Becker

Visiting Associate Professor of Neurobiology

Shoumo Bhattacharya

Neil Brockdorff

Professor of Biochemistry and Wellcome Principle Research Fellow

Marella de Bruijn

Professor of Developmental Haematopoiesis

Simon Butt

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Zameel Cader

Director of the Oxford Headache Centre and Director of StemBANCC

Carolyn Carr

Associate Professor of Biomedical Science

Constantinos Christodoulides

University Research Lecturer

Kieran Clarke

Professor of Physiological Biochemistry

Mark Coles

Professor of Immunology

Kay Davies

Emeritus Professor of Genetics

Ben Davies

Ilan Davis

Professor of Cell Biology

James Dunford

Senior Research Associate

James Edwards

Arthritis Research UK Career Development Fellow

Tommas Ellender

MRC Career Development Fellow

Paul Fairchild

Russell Foster

Head of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and the Sleep and Circadian ...

Richard Gibbons

Professor of Clinical Genetics

Maike Glitsch

Associate Professor of Biomedical Science

Stephen Goodwin

Professor of Neurogenetics

Anne Goriely

Associate Professor of Human Genetics

Joanna Hester

University Research Lecturer

Douglas Higgs

Emeritus Professor

Georg Holländer

Hoffmann and Action Medical Research Professor of Developmental Medicine

Jim Hughes

Professor of Gene Regulation

Jim Hughes

David Jackson

Professor of Human Immunology

Paul Johnson

Professor of Paediatric Surgery

Rob Klose

Professor of Genetics

Anjali Kusumbe

Group Leader

Nick Lakin

Professor of Molecular Cell Biology

Adam Mead

Professor of Haematology

Thomas Milne

Associate Professor of Haematology

Liliana Minichiello

Reader in Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience

Zoltan Molnar

Professor of Developmental Neuroscience

Mathilda Mommersteeg

Associate Professor of Developmental and Regenerative Medicine

Edward Morrissey

MRC WIMM Group Leader and Principal Investigator in RDM

Jagdeep Nanchahal

Professor of Hand, Plastic and Reconstructive Surgery

Claus Nerlov

Professor of Stem Cell Biology

Udo Oppermann

Professor of Molecular Biology

Siim Pauklin

CRUK Career development fellow

Catherine Pears

Associate Professor

Martin Philpott

Senior Research Associate

Catherine Porcher

Associate Professor of Developmental and Stem Cell Biology

Paul Riley

BHF Professor of Regenerative Medicine & Chair of Development and Cell Biology

Simon Rinaldi

Associate Professor and MRC Clinician Scientist

Irene Roberts

Emeritus Professor of Paediatric Haematology

Anindita Roy

Associate Professor of Paediatric Haematology

Angela Russell

Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Tatjana Sauka-Spengler

Professor of Developmental Genomics and Gene Regulation

Elena Seiradake

Associate Professor & Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow

Sumathi Sekaran

Senior Research Scientist

Anna Katharina (Katja) A Simon

Professor of Immunology

Nicola Smart

BHF Ian Fleming Fellow

Duncan Sparrow

Associate Professor and BHF Senior Basic Science Research Fellow

Shankar Srinivas

Professor of Developmental Biology

Peter Sullivan

Associate Professor in Paediatrics

Francis Szele

Associate Professor of Developmental Biology

George Tofaris

MRC Senior Clinical Fellow, Honorary Consultant Neurologist

Holm Uhlig

Professor of Paediatric Gastroenterology, Group Head / PI and Hon Consultant ...

Lidia Vasilieva

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow, group leader

Paresh Vyas

Professor of Haematology

Richard Wade-Martins

Principal Investigator

Andrew Wilkie

Nuffield Professor of Pathology

Suzannah Williams

Associate Professor & Senior Research Fellow

Clive Wilson

Professor of Cell and Developmental Genetics

Matthew Wood

Professor of Neuroscience

Alison Woollard

Associate Professor