Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content
Macrophage foam cells in a developing atherosclerotic lesion visualised by confocal microscopy - macrosialin in red, CD68-GFP transgene in green © Dr Eileen McNeill, Dr Asif Iqbal and Professor David R Greaves

This DPhil programme is aimed at basic science graduates who want to undertake advanced research into cardiovascular disease. The programme provides you with a solid grounding in the study of cardiac and vascular biology through the provision of taught courses, advanced level seminars and tutorials predominantly in the first year.

Read the full DPhil in Cardiovascular Science course information on the University of Oxford admissions website.

The UK government has confirmed that EU students commencing their studies in 2019/20 will continue to have ‘Home’ fee status and pay fees at the home rate for the duration of their course.  For more information please see

Lisa Simpson, DPhil student in Cardiovascular Science
Lisa Simpson, DPhil student in Cardiovascular Science
I chose the BHF programme because of the opportunity to ... gain knowledge of new techniques and areas of research.Read more about Lisa's experiences


The following researchers are affiliated with this programme

Jane Armitage

Professor of Clinical Trials and Epidemiology, and Honorary Consultant in ...

Colin Baigent

Professor of Epidemiology and Director, MRC PHRU

Keith Buckler

Associate Professor of Physiology

Ben Cairns

Senior Statistical Epidemiologist; University Research Lecturer

Carolyn Carr

Associate Professor of Biomedical Science

Grant C Churchill

Associate Professor in Chemical Pharmacology

Kieran Clarke

Professor of Physiological Biochemistry

Sarah Darby

Professor of Medical Statistics

Aiden Doherty

Group Leader in Biomedical Data Science

Ana Domingos

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Kim Dora

Professor of Microvascular Pharmacology

Andrew Farmer

Professor of General Practice

Antony Galione

Statutory Professor of Pharmacology

Christopher J Garland

Professor of Vascular Pharmacology

Lisa Heather

BHF Intermediate Fellow and University Research Lecturer

Neil Herring

Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology and Consultant Cardiologist

Tim Holt

Senior Clinical Research Fellow

Jemma Hopewell

Associate Professor & Senior Scientist in Genetic Epidemiology and Clinical ...

Susan Jebb

Professor of Diet and Population Health

Ming Lei

Associate Professor

Dan Li

Senior Research Associate

Mathilda Mommersteeg

Associate Professor of Developmental and Regenerative Medicine

Anant Parekh

Director, Centre for Integrative Physiology

David Paterson

Head of Department

Rafael Perera

Director Medical Statistics

Paul Riley

BHF Professor of Regenerative Medicine & Chair of Development and Cell Biology

Peter Robbins

Professor of Physiology

Angela Russell

Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Rebecca M A Sitsapesan

Emeritus Professor of Pharmacology

Nicola Smart

BHF Senior Research Fellow and Associate Professor

Duncan Sparrow

BHF Senior Basic Science Research Fellow

Shankar Srinivas

Professor of Developmental Biology

Pawel Swietach

Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Physiology

Paolo Tammaro

Associate Professor in Pharmacology

Damian Tyler

Professor of Biomedical Science

Sridhar Vasudevan

University Research Lecturer

Manuela Zaccolo

Director, Burdon Sanderson Cardiac Sciences Centre

Application Deadline

Closed to applications for 2019-20 entry.  The next admissions cycle, for entry to Oxford's graduate courses in 2020-21, will commence on 2 September 2019.

Programme Director: Professor David R Greaves

Programme Co-Directors: Dr Nicola Smart and Professor Kim Dora