Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Diabetes already affects 415 million people worldwide. In the UK, there will be 5M people with type 2 diabetes (T2D) by 2025, accounting for 1 in 30 prescriptions and £25 billion in annual NHS costs. The establishment of the Oxford Centre for Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism (OCDEM) builds on existing strength in this area. OCDEM is committed to training the next generation of basic and clinical scientists in the fields of Diabetes, Endocrinology & Metabolism. Several of the OCDEM PIs have joint affiliations with the neighbouring Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics. DPhil Projects in this area are available through the RDM Scholars Programme, the NDM Prize Studentships and the Wellcome Trust funded structured programme on Genomic Medicine and Statistics. Its projects cut across conventional disciplines to include aspects of human statistical and molecular genetics, translational genomics, molecular and cellular biology, islet physiology, integrated physiology and clinical trials. The Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics and the Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences also have a number of groups doing research in diabetes and metabolism. The Structured DPhil programme in Ion Channels and Disease includes projects on the molecular mechanisms underlying diabetes. 

Supervisors in Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism

M Sanni Ali

Senior Researcher in Pharmacoepidemiologic Methods

Jane Armitage

Professor of Clinical Trials and Epidemiology, and Honorary Consultant in ...

Frances Ashcroft

GlaxoSmithKline Royal Society Professor

Fiona Bragg

Clinical Research Fellow

Keith Buckler

Associate Professor of Physiology

James Cantley

RD Lawrence Fellow

Helen Christian

Deputy Head of Department

Grant C Churchill

Associate Professor in Chemical Pharmacology

Kieran Clarke

Professor of Physiological Biochemistry

Cyrus Cooper

Professor of Musculoskeletal Science, University of Oxford

Ana Domingos

Associate Professor of Neuroscience

Huaidong Du

Senior Research Fellow

Claire Edwards

Associate Professor of Bone Oncology

Andrew Farmer

Professor of General Practice

Peter Friend

Professor of Transplantation

Antony Galione

Statutory Professor of Pharmacology

Deborah Goberdhan

Associate Professor of Cell Signalling

Bass Hassan

Professor of Medical Oncology

Lisa Heather

BHF Intermediate Fellow and University Research Lecturer

Tim Holt

Senior Clinical Research Fellow

Philippa Hulley

Associate Professor

Rutger J. Ploeg

Professor of Transplant Biology

Kassim Javaid

Associate Professor

Susan Jebb

Professor of Diet and Population Health

Paul Johnson

Professor of Paediatric Surgery

Fredrik Karpe

Professor of Metabolic Medicine

Helen Knowles

University Research Lecturer and Arthritis Research UK Career Development Fellow

Raashid Luqmani

Professor of Rheumatology

Liliana Minichiello

Reader in Cellular and Molecular Neuroscience

Claudia Monaco

Professor of Cardiovascular Inflammation

John Parrington

Associate Professor in Cellular and Molecular Pharmacology

Frances Platt

Professor of Biochemistry and Pharmacology

David Preiss

Associate Professor

Peter Robbins

Professor of Physiology

Damian Tyler

Professor of Biomedical Science

Irina Udalova

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Sridhar Vasudevan

University Research Lecturer

Clive Wilson

Professor of Cell and Developmental Genetics

Kathryn Wood

Emeritus Professor of Immunology

Paul Wordsworth

Professor of Rheumatology