Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Graduate School

Programme Directors: Professor Frances Ashcroft and Professor Stephen Tucker

Full DPhil in Ion Channels and Disease course information (University of Oxford admissions website)


The programme trains you in a range of multidisciplinary approaches and embraces all aspects of ion channel and membrane transport research from protein structure, genetics and cell physiology to animal behaviour and human disease.  The first year is devoted to taught courses and two rotation-projects. This is followed by a three-year research project involving two different OXION groups.


The following researchers are affiliated with this programme

Radu Aricescu
Frances Ashcroft
David Bannerman
Hagan Bayley
Esther Becker
David Beeson
David Bennett
Phil Biggin
Liz Carpenter
Roger Cox
Kay Davies
Lars Fugger
Maike Glitsch
Gero Miesenboeck
Simon Newstead
Anant Parekh
David Paterson
Carol Robinson
Patrik Rorsman
Mark Sansom
Paolo Tammaro
Richard Vaughan-Jones
Angela Vincent
Scott Waddell
Mark Wallace

Application Deadline

The new application cycle for entry in 2017 opens on 1 September 2016.  The deadline for applications to be received is 6 January 2017.

College Choice

If you have no strong preference for a college, it is suggested that you consider Green Templeton College or The Queen’s College.

Information on which colleges accept applications to this programme, can be found here.

Supported by

Wellcome Trust

Further Information