Medical students sitting at a round table working collaboratively on a project © Shutterstock

Image courtesy of Shutterstock

Clinical Study

The assessment structure of the clinical course is kept under review and this page is due to be updated shortly with new assessment structures from 2020-21.

Assessment comprises both summative and formative elements.  Formative assessments allow students to measure their progress.  Summative assessments must be passed in order to progress through the course; these include formal written (including computer-based) examinations, and clinical (i.e. practical) examinations; students also complete course work such as poster presentations, essays, log-books of clinical experience etc. Student performance during clinical rotations is also assessed and must be deemed satisfactory in order to progress with the course.

The curriculum, supplemented by course handbooks, ensures that students understand what they will be expected to know for each assessment.  Successful completion of each year of the course leads to the degrees of BM, BCh (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery).

Year 4 

[Please note: the Year 4 assessment structure is due to change in 2020-21 and this information will be updated shortly.]

There is a formative assessment of clinical examination skills early in the first term, and a formative assessment of clinical knowledge at the end of the third term. 

There is a summative written assessment of the Laboratory Medicine course at the end of the first term, and a summative assessment of clinical skills via an Objective Structured Clinical Examination (i.e. a practical assessment) at the end of the third term.

Students also complete course work such as poster presentations as part of special study modules.

Year 5 (Specialty Rotations)

Students are required to have satisfactorily attended all courses and fulfilled all individual course requirements, including completing all relevant formative assessments throughout the year.  At the end of the academic year students sit the Integrated Summative Assessment exam.  The Integrated Summative Assessment consists of two assessment units, the written examination and the clinical examination which assess knowledge and skills in the Year 5 subjects.

Year 6

The Year 6 curriculum concerns General Clinical Skills and Vocational Studies. In the second term of the final year, students are summatively assessed in medicine and surgery (General Clinical Skills) by written (including computer-based) and clinical examinations. Vocational Studies focus on preparing for practice as a doctor. Students are assessed through review of a course work portfolio of evidence.