Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Christopher Welch Scholarships in Biological Sciences have been founded thanks to the bequest received in 1915 under the will of the late Christopher Welch, M.A., of Wadham College.

With the first award being made in 1918, they have a long and distinguished history and impressive legacy. Previous Christopher Welch Scholars include eminent researchers and scientists many of whom received national and international recognition for their contributions to science (including Nobel Prizes). 

Brief history of Christopher Welch Scholarships

Current Christopher Welch Scholarships holders





2024 tbc tbc tbc



funding not available



Ian Hsu

Radcliffe Department of Medicine

St Edmund Hall


Denis Lan

Experimental Psychology

St John's

Scholarship value

At present, Christopher Welch Scholarships offer:

  • payment of fees 
  • a maintenance grant (no less than £21,122 pa in years 1-4)
  • Research Support Grant of £5,000 per annum in years 1, 2 and 3 

No person may be awarded a scholarship a second time. 


Christopher Welch Scholarships were established to promote the study of biology.

To be eligible for the award in 2024 admissions round, candidates must have applied to the University for admission for postgraduate study in one of the Medical Sciences Division non-clinical departments by the deadline of 12 noon (UK time) on Friday 1st December 2023:

  • Biochemistry
  • Experimental Psychology
  • Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics
  • William Dunn School of Pathology
  • Pharmacology

How to apply

All applicants to the above MSD non-clinical departments whom have applied by the deadline of 1st December 2023, will automatically be considered for this award.

There will be no separate application required.


Aga Bush