Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Fiona Powrie FRS, FMedSci, DBE


Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences and Director of the Kennedy Institute

  • Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE), for services to Medical Sciences

Dame Fiona Powrie is Director of the Kennedy Institute of Rheumatology and a Professor of Musculoskeletal Sciences. She leads the Mucosal Immunology research group.

Her research interests include characterisation of the interaction between the intestinal microbiota and the host immune system and how this mutualistic relationship breaks down in inflammatory bowel disease.

Fiona's work has identified the functional role of regulatory T cells in intestinal homeostasis and shed light on their development and mechanism of action. She has also shown that both adaptive and innate immune mechanisms contribute to intestinal inflammation and identified the IL-23 pathway as a pivotal player in the pathogenesis of chronic intestinal inflammation.

Her current work seeks to translate findings from model systems into the clinic in inflammatory bowel disease patients.

Fiona received the Ita Askonas Award from the European Federation of Immunological Societies for her contribution to immunology in Europe, the Louis-Jeantet Prize for Medicine 2012 and an Honorary Lifetime Membership of the British Society of Immunology in 2021.

She was elected a Fellow of the Royal Society in 2011, EMBO in 2013, the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2014 and an International Fellow of the National Academy of Sciences in 2020.

Fiona joined the Wellcome Trust Board of Governors in 2018 and was appointed Deputy Chair in 2022.