Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

E. Yvonne Jones

Receptor Structure Research Group


E. Yvonne Jones read Physics as an undergraduate at the University of Oxford, graduating in 1982. She stayed in Oxford for her doctorate, but shifted her focus to biology, studying for her D.Phil. in the Laboratory of Molecular Biophysics where she was supervised by Prof Andrew Miller and Prof Sir David Phillips (later Lord Phillips). She was awarded a D.Phil. in 1985 for ‘Structural and dynamic studies of biological macromolecules’. During postdoctoral work at the University of Edinburgh she conducted inelastic neutron scattering experiments at the ILL in Grenoble to investigate the dynamic properties of collagen. She returned to Oxford to learn protein crystallography where in 1989, working with Prof Dave Stuart, she determined one of the first crystal structures of a cytokine, tumour necrosis factor (TNF). During the later part of her postdoctoral studies Yvonne contributed to the MRC AIDS directed programme, working on high resolution structural studies of HIV Reverse Transcriptase to guide the development of anti-virals. In 1991 Yvonne started her own research programme in the Department of Biochemistry at Oxford as a Royal Society University Research Fellow. She chose to focus on cell-to-cell signalling molecules, an abiding interest of hers that had been sparked by her studies on TNF, and over the following 25 or so years has developed a research theme centred on the molecular mechanisms underpinning function in cell surface signalling systems. Her current research aims to integrate high resolution mechanistic detail with lower resolution cellular context and is focused on cell guidance cues and Wnt signalling systems.

In 1999 Yvonne co-founded (with Dave Stuart) the Division of Structural Biology (STRUBI) in the Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine at Oxford. She is currently Joint Head of STRUBI and Deputy Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Human Genetics. She is a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and a Member of EMBO.