Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Scientists working in Oxford have made major contributions to this field. Robert Gwynne Macfarlane was instrumental in identifying the clotting cascade. George Brownlee first cloned the Factor IX gene, leading to the production of recombinant Factor IX now used to treat patients with haemophilia B. Sir David Weatherall pioneered research into the inherited basis of blood disorders, particularly thalassaemia, culminating in a prestigious Lasker Award in 2010.

Current research in haematology is concentrated in the MRC Molecular Haematology Unit housed in the Weatherall Institute of Molecular Medicine and the Nuffield Department of Clinical Laboratory Sciences. Areas of strength include the regulation of gene expression in  haematopoiesis, understanding haematopoietic stem cells and how they are perturbed in various form of leukemia.

Supervisors in Haematology

Sarah Atkinson

Associate Professor and Honorary Consultant in Paediatrics and Paediatric ...

Marella de Bruijn

Professor of Developmental Haematopoiesis

David Clynes

Group Leader

Claire Edwards

Associate Professor of Bone Oncology

Panagis Filippakopoulos

Richard Gibbons

Professor of Clinical Genetics

Georg Holländer

Hoffmann and Action Medical Research Professor of Developmental Medicine

Jim Hughes

Professor of Gene Regulation

Jim Hughes

Rob Klose

Professor of Genetics

Adam Mead

Professor of Haematology

Thomas Milne

Associate Professor of Haematology

Edward Morrissey

MRC WIMM Group Leader and Principal Investigator in RDM

Claus Nerlov

Professor of Stem Cell Biology

Andrea Pellagatti

University Research Lecturer

Catherine Porcher

Associate Professor of Developmental and Stem Cell Biology

David Roberts

Professor of Haematology

Irene Roberts

Emeritus Professor of Paediatric Haematology

Anindita Roy

Associate Professor of Paediatric Haematology

Angela Russell

Professor of Medicinal Chemistry

Anna Schuh

Director of Molecular Diagnostics

Anna Katharina (Katja) A Simon

Professor of Immunology

Simon Stanworth

Associate Professor of Haematology and Transfusion Medicine

Alain Townsend

Professor of Molecular Immunology

Lidia Vasilieva

Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow, group leader

Paresh Vyas

Professor of Haematology


Doctoral Training Centre Degrees