Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Governance is the way an organisation functions – the way it makes its decisions, providing a framework for authority and accountability. This permeates through the University and flows to the Divisions.

For Medical Sciences, the key governance function is the Divisional Board and the committees that feed into it. The board is made up of elected and appointed representatives from across the departments. The Medical Sciences Divisional Board is subject to plans, policies and guidelines set down by Council.

Council is the University's executive governing body, advised by a variety of committees and subgroups. Congregation is the sovereign body of the University: it consists of about 5,000 members, comprising academic staff, heads and other members of governing bodies of colleges and societies, and senior professional services staff.

There are Medical Services Division members active across these bodies, and both Council and many of the committees have positions reserved specifically for members of MSD. We have designed a range of toolkits to support those involved in committees, and resources to help with the application process. We encourage everyone who is eligible to be involved in steering the University and shaping its strategic future.

Resources including upcoming vacancies, forms and guidance on how to apply can all be found on the GRC Hub

Find out more about the governance structures that support the Medical Sciences Division

Read the GRC Hub Digest about Governance Structures: Decisions and Representation