Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Oxford Medical Alumni Advisory Board (OMAAB) comprises elected members of Oxford Medical Alumni, ex-officio members of the Medical Sciences Division at the University of Oxford, and representatives of the student body. OMAAB meets termly to provide support and guidance on the day to day running of OMA, and to carry out decisions taken at the OMAAB AGM. Become involved.

OMAAB Officers:

Professor John MorrisPresident - Professor John Morris

Emeritus Professor of Human Anatomy, Former Director of Pre-Clinical Studies Oxford University and instrumental in running the first on-line examinations in Principles of Clinical Anatomy for the University. His research has always involved structural studies on neuroendocrinology and started at the University of Bristol with studies on the magnocellular neurosecretory system. In Oxford, his lab was the first to demonstrate that the vasopressin and oxytocin genes can undergo somatic crossovers leading to the production of hybrid peptides which accumulate in the rough endoplasmic reticulum, and also to provide an unequivocal demonstration of dendritic secretion of neuropeptides. Emeritus Fellow of St Hugh's College.

Honorary Treasurer - Dr Roger Bodley

Clinical Senior Lecturer, University of Tasmania, Formerly Consultant radiologist senior radiologist at Stoke Mandeville Hospital. 

Board Membership:

  • Professor Sir John Bell - Regius Professor of Medicine, Oxford University. Student of Christ Church College.
  • Professor Alastair Buchan - Dean of the Oxford Medical School, Head of the Medical Sciences Division at the University of Oxford. Professor of Clinical Geratology, Oxford University Hospitals Trust. Fellow of Corpus Christi College, Oxford.
  • Mr Martin Burton - Director of the United Kingdom Cochrane Centre, Consultant Otolaryngologist, Professor of Otolaryngology at the University of Oxford and Lecturer in Clinical Medicine at Balliol College. 
  • Dame Fiona Caldicott - Chairman of the Oxford University Hospitals Trust. Dame Fiona is an Honorary Consultant Psychiatrist. Former President of the Royal College of Psychiatrists, Chairman of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and Principal of Somerville College, Oxford.
  • Dr Christopher Conlon - Consultant Physician in Infectious Diseases, Nuffield Department of Medicine, Oxford University Hospitals Trust. Fellow and Tutor in Clinical Medicine, Oriel College, Oxford.
  • Dr Charlotte Frise - Specialty Registrar in Obstetric Medicine and Acute Medicine, Oxford University Hospitals Trust. 
  • Dr Derek Hockaday - Consultant Physician, Oxford Centre for Diabetes Endocrinology and etabolism, Churchill Hospital, Oxford
  • Professor Derek Jewell - Emeritus Professor of Gastroenterology, Nuffield Department of Medicine, University of Oxford, Consultant Physician, Oxford University Hospitals Trust.
  • Dr Tim Littlewood - Interim Director of Clinical Studies, University of Oxford Medical School.
  • Professor John Reid - Qualified through the Oxford Medical School. Former Regius Professor of Medicine and Therapeutics, and previously Regius Professor of Materia Medica, at the University of Glasgow. 
  • Professor John Stein - After pre-clinical studies at New College, I trained as a clinical neurologist at St Thomas’s Hospital, London, Leicester and Oxford. I was appointed Fellow and Tutor in Medicine at Magdalen College in 1970. Now Emeritus, I still teach neuroscience a bit, and I lecture frequently to Schools and Societies on why neuroscience is so interesting. 
  • Dr Jeremy Taylor - Director of Pre-Clinical Studies, University of Oxford. Fellow of Pembroke College.
  • Dr Laura Watts - Academic Clinical Fellow Core Medical Training/Rheumatology, Oxford Deanery.
  • Dr Lynn Williamson - a graduate of the University of Oxford Medical School she is a Rheumatologist at the Great Western Hospital in Swindon.
  • Professor Christopher Winearls - qualified in Medicine  from the University of Cape Town, before becoming a Rhodes Scholar at Keble 1975-8. I obtained my DPhil in transplantation immunology in the Nuffield Department of Surgery, supervised by Prof P J Morris, FRS. Now Associate Professor of Medicine, Oxford University and a half-time consultant Nephrologist, Oxford Kidney Unit.
  • Student representative - Mr Nicholas Turner, President of Osler House.

Oxford Medical Alumni Network

Login / Join the Oxford medical community online

Sign up for mailings - keep in touch with medicine at Oxford. Find out what your friend and colleagues have been doing.

Update your detailsDo we have your current contact details? Make sure you receive alumni news, publications, event invitations and more!

Alumni Search -

Privacy Settings