Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

This is a University of Oxford fund intended to foster creativity and a proactive approach to research opportunities in all subject areas, and particularly interdisciplinary fields. It will make seed corn and start-up grants, and provide funds to stimulate applications to external funding bodies.


  • The John Fell Fund has three termly rounds of Main and Small Award applications.
  • In addition, the Division is allocated a separate annual funding stream; this is used to support Divisional strategic initiatives


Please see the University John Fell Fund website for termly deadlines for Main and Small Award applications. Your department may have an internal process ahead of the advertised deadline so please check their procedure before you start writing your application.


  1. All applications to the John Fell Fund must be submitted via the online application form. Applications must be approved by the department before the deadline to progress to the next stage. For prospective category f applications, please speak to the JFF Medical Sciences Divisional contact, Leila Whitworth.
  2. The Divisional John Fell Fund review committee is made up of 10 senior academics from across the division and is chaired by the Associate Head (Research). The proposals are reviewed, scored and ranked. 
  3. The Division makes recommendations to the University John Fell Fund Committee:
  • Small Award applications are dealt with by the Chair of the University Fell Fund Committee by Chair’s action.
  • Main Award applications are considered alongside applications from all Divisions and service departments at the termly University Fell Fund Committee meetings.
  • The John Fell Fund administration (located in Research Support) provide letters to each applicant on the outcome of their application and deal with the administration of awards, including extensions to awards and reporting.

Applications, scores and reviewer comments may be shared with other internal University panels to ensure maximum value for money.


If you cannot find the required information on the John Fell Fund website, or have further queries, please e-mail

John Fell Fund Medical Sciences Sub-Committee


Chair: Professor Matthew Wood

Secretary: Leila Whitworth


Professor Raymond Fitzpatrick
Professor Richard Gibbons
Professor Clare Mackay
Professor Chris O'Callaghan 
Professor Alison Simmons 
Professor Nicole Zitzmann

University John Fell Fund Committee

recently-funded projects

  • Zaccolo, Manuela. DPAG. Funding towards a specialist multi-user microsurgery and functional imaging facility in the Biomedical Sciences Building (BSB), South Parks Rd area. £70,000.00
  • Roberts, Thomas. DPAG. Next generation exosome therapy for Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy. £59,654.73
  • Ptchelkine, Denis. Oncology. A protein purification platform for structural. £75,000.00
  • Lennox, Belinda. Psychiatry. Neuronal autoantibodies and brain electrophysiology. £45,655.09
  • Rinaldi, Simon. Clinical Neurosciences. Zika infection and autoimmune peripheral neuropathy. £7,400.00
  • Pollard, Andrew. Paediatrics. Haemophilus influenzae b carriage amongst community-based children after conjugate vaccine introduction in Nepal. £7,507.57
  • Lyons, Brian. Oncology. Generation of a click chemistry compatible oncolytic virus which can be chemically enhanced with biochemical targeting and novel bio-conjugation chemistry to increase tumour infectivity. £7,000.00
  • Garner, Lee. NDM:Target Discovery Institute. Identification of arthritogenic-related TCRs in patient samples by single-cell sequencing. £7,500.00
  • Castrejon-Pita, Alfonso. Engineering Science/NDORMS. Towards nano-inkjet 3D printing. £95,000.00
  • Ahel, Dragana. Dunn School of Pathology SNF2 ATPases in genome stability and human disease. £98,525
  • Akiyoshi, Bungo. Biochemistry. Dissect the molecular mechanism of microtubule interaction in trypanosomes.     £21,107
  • Dong, Tao. NDM. Studying VOP and TSP specific T cell responses in EBV associated NPC and HPV associated cervical and head/neck cancer. £175,000
  • Fugger, Lars. Clinical Neurosciences. Functional Mechanisms Controlling Pre-eclampsia. £50,000
  • Owens, Raymond. NDM. Oxford Nanobody Consortium. £84,703
  • Song, Rinn. Paediatrics. Improving Paediatric TB Diagnosis. £50,056
  • Fischer, Roman. NDM. Upgrade of state-of-the-art mass spectrometer for deep Proteomics. £7,500
  • Michl, Johanna. Physiology Anatomy and Genetics. Using whole-genome CRISPR/Cas9 screening to identify genes implicated in cancer cell survival under acid-stress. £6,000
  • Mohammed, Shabaz. Biochemistry. A lumos for the masses. £210,000
  • Nayler, Samuel.  Physiology Anatomy and Genetics. In vitro modelling of human cerebellar development using induced pluripotent stem cells through single cell sequencing. £7,500
  • Ottley, Edward.  Oncology. The use of chromogenic in-situ hybridisation to investigate the expression of molecular subtype-specific miRNAs and targets in pT1G3 progression to muscle-invasive bladder cancer. £7,439