Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Researchers from Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics, Radcliffe Department of Medicine and Nuffield Department of Population Health have been recgonised in The Genetics Society 2023 awards.

Louisa Zolkiewski, Cecilia Lindgren and Doug Higgs
From left to right: Louisa Zolkiewski, Cecilia Lindgren and Doug Higgs

Louisa Zolkiewski

Louisa Zolkiewski (Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics), who completed her DPhil studies this year, has been awarded the 2022 Bruce Cattanach Prize by the Genetics Society for her DPhil thesis. Louisa is the Society's inaugural winner of the prize.

Read more about Louisa's award on the DPAG website

Cecilia Lindgren

Cecilia Lindgren, Director of the Big Data Institute and Professor of Genomic Endocrinology & Metabolism at Nuffield Department of Population Health, has been awarded the 2023 Mary Lyon Medal by the Genetics Society. Named after the distinguished geneticist Mary Lyon FRS, the award was established in 2015 to recognise outstanding research in genetics by scientists who are in the middle of their research career.

Read more about Cecilia's award on the Big Data Institute website

Doug Higgs

Doug Higgs, Emeritus Professor in the Radcliffe Department of Medicine, has been awarded the 2023 Genetics Society Medal. The award recognises Professor Higgs major contribution to our understanding of how mammalian genes are switched on and off, and using haematopoiesis as a model to understand how genes function.

Read more about Doug's award on the Radcliffe Department of Medicine website

Similar stories

Communication at the crossroads of the immune system

In his inaugural article in the Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences as an NAS member (elected 2021), Prof Mike Dustin and his research team in Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences have explained how messages are passed across the immunological synapse. The research could have implications for future vaccine development and immunotherapy treatments.

Showcase success for Science Together research

A local collaboration teaming researchers from the University of Oxford and Oxford Brookes University with the Urban Music Foundation finished on a high note with an immersive sound and art installation at Oxford’s Old Fire Station.

Oxford spinout trials revolutionary bioelectronic implant to treat incontinence

The first participants in a clinical trial of a bioelectrical therapy to treat incontinence have received their “smart” bioelectronic implants.

COVID-19 is a leading cause of death in children and young people in the US

A new study led by researchers at the University of Oxford’s Department of Computer Science has found that, between 2021 and 2022, COVID-19 was a leading cause of death in children and young people in the United States, ranking eighth overall. The results demonstrate that pharmaceutical and public health interventions should continue to be applied to limit the spread of the coronavirus and protect again severe disease in this age group.

Three or more concussions linked with worse brain function in later life

Experiencing three or more concussions is linked with worsened brain function in later life, according to new research.

New blood test could save lives of heart attack victims

Researchers in the Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (DPAG) have developed a blood test that measures stress hormone levels after heart attacks. The test – costing just £10 – could ensure patients receive timely life-saving treatment.