Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Trade unions

There are three recognised trade unions at the University:

UCU (University and Colleges Union)

UCU is the largest trade union and professional association for academics, lecturers, trainers, researchers and academic-related staff working in further and higher education throughout the UK. it was formed in 2006 by the amalgamation of the Association of University Teachers and NATFHE - The University  and College Lecturers' Union.


Unite is Britain's biggest union, formed by a merger between the T&G and Amicus, and has two million members in every type of workplace. At Oxford it represents clerical and technical staff.


UNISON is Britain and Europe's biggest public sector union with more than 1.3 million members. At Oxford it represents manual and ancillary staff and craft trades.