Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The 2021 and 2022 MSD Teaching Excellence Awards were celebrated in a ceremony at St Catherine’s College earlier this week.

Teaching Excellence Award winners 2022

The ceremony was hosted by the Head of Division, Professor Gavin Screaton, the Associate Head of Division (Education), Professor David Vaux, and the Head of Education Policy and Planning, Jane Dale.

The Teaching Excellence Awards scheme has been in place since 2006, recognising and rewarding excellence in teaching, supervision, the organisation and development of teaching, and support for teaching and learning, within a research-intensive environment. The Awards formally acknowledge significant educational achievements, reward individuals who have exceeded expectations in carrying out their duties, and support the aspirations of those who wish to innovate and enhance our educational provision.

This year saw the highest number of nominations and awardees to date, and the separate Project-only awards round in 2022 allowed for timely funding of educational projects, enhancing students’ education and supporting other educational priorities.

It was exhilarating to get together for an Awards evening after a gap of three years, for a moving and uplifting celebration of the outstanding work of the Awardees.

This year’s prizes were awarded to the following staff from across the Division:

  • Major Educator – Professor Helen Higham (and team) (OxSTaR), Professor David Greaves
  • Lifetime Achievement – Professor Elspeth Garman, Dr Richard Harrington, Professor Anton van der Merwe, Professor Afsie Sabokbar, Professor Jeremy Taylor
  • Excellent Teacher – Professor Helen Christian, Dr Rachel Exley, Professor Chris Norbury, Professor Stephanie Dakin
  • Early Career Excellent Teacher – Dr Jack Amiry, Dr Dejan Draschkow, Dr Jessica Renzella, Dr Hannah Bolland
  • Excellent Supervisor – Professor Alison Woollard
  • Learning Support – Mr Samuel Burnell, Mr Jon Mason, Dr Damion Young

And Projects - 

  • Dr Alison Convery, Dr Julian Hancock (An Innovative Pilot Scheme Proposal for Clinical Teaching in Year 3 of the Medical Degree)
  • Dr Dejan Draschkow, Dr Sage Boettcher (R & PsychoPy Hackathon: Interactive hands-on workshop on statistical and experimental programming)
  • Dr Jennifer Carter, Miss Tracy Bye, Dr Imen Hammani, Dr Stephanie Ross  (MSD Statistics Training Programme)
  • Dr Mehrunisha Suleman, Mr Isaac Jarratt Barnham, Dr David McCartney (Peer led essay workshops to enhance Graduate Entry Ethics Teaching)
  • Dr Carrie Anderson, Dr Andrew Soltan, Dr Ali Manji, Dr Esther Park (Speciality referrals simulation workshop)
  • Mr Andrey Nezhentsev, Miss Yva Petit (Neer peer led mock OSCE for Year 4 and GE Year 2 students)
  • Professor Gabriele De Luca, Dr Jonathan Attwood, Dr Gina Hadley, Dr Caz Nahman (Get your head in the game: an innovative Sports Neurology, Psychiatry, and Rehabilitation teaching session for Year 5 / GEM Year 3 medical students)
  • Dr Mark Roberts, Professor Alison Woollard, Mr Juan Escobar (The hybrid lab - enabling real-time electronic data capture in the undergraduate practical lab)
  • Mr Jon Mason, Dr Damion Young, Dr Barbara Zonta (Technology Enhanced Student Evaluation of Teaching)
  • Dr Delia O’Rourke, Miss Tracy Bye (Oxford Postgraduate Teaching Network (OPTN), supporting good practice in postgraduate teaching.)
  • Dr Alison Convey, Dr Kate Saunders (An innovative approach to teaching reflective practice: developing a training resource for educators)
  • Dr Pamina Mitter, Dr Chris Kowalski (Embedding Four-dimensional Formulation: Considering historical and structural racism in mental health care delivery)
  • Dr Neel Doshi, Dr Madeline Green, Dr Katherine Lee, Dr Bethany Seale, Dr Maria Eduarda Bruco, Dr Jothikka Amaralingam, Professor Brian Angus (Development of a virtual simulation programme and assessment of its value in improving medical student confidence in clinical reasoning and management as a junior doctor)

Congratulations to all of the awardees.

Read more about the 2022 Awardees and the 2021 Awardees.

Image below: Awardees receiving their awards

A collage image of the awardees winning receiving their awards