Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

NDM New BuildingThe Medical Sciences Division is an internationally recognized centre of excellence for biomedical and clinical research and teaching and is the largest of the four academic divisions within the University. The Division comprises 16 departmentsand their constituent units, institutes and centres, spread across three sites in Oxford (the Science Area, Old Road and hospital sites in Headington) and includes numerous clinical research units in Africa and Asia.

Over 5500 academics, researchers, NHS clinicians and GPs, and administrative staff, 1400 graduate and 1600 undergraduate students, together contribute to our extensive and exemplary research, teaching and clinical portfolios.

We aim to be the best university biomedical institution in Europe and amongst the best five biomedical institutions in the world, and have been ranked number one for the last five years in the Times Higher Education World University Rankings for clinical, pre-clinical and health sciences - the only non-North American institution to be top-ranked by THE in any subject discipline.

Working in LabIn research, fundamental discovery and translational science are highly integrated across our sites. Our research ranges from basic bioscience to clinical application, from molecule to man, from bench to bedside. The excellence of our research is recognised by international league tables and through national research assessment exercises. In 2012/13, our research income was over £300m.

Our long standing partnerships with local NHS Trust, which include the establishment of the NIHR-funded Oxford Biomedical Research Centre with the Oxford University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, a longstanding close association with Oxford Health NHS Foundation Trust, and newer collaborations with the Oxford Academic Health Sciences Network (OAHSN) and the Academic Health Sciences Centres (AHSC), enable patients to benefit from close links between medical research and healthcare delivery. This builds on our already impressive historical record; medical scientists at Oxford have, among many achievements, led the development of penicillin, laid the groundwork for immunisation by discovering how antibodies and the immune system work and have also provided incontrovertible evidence for the link between smoking and cancer.

Student in CAL LabIn teaching, a defining feature of our courses is that they respond to scientific developments, both reflecting and benefiting from the leading-edge research taking place in Oxford and elsewhere. Additionally, students benefit from excellent facilities, high-quality transferable skills training and ongoing support.  Student satisfaction is high, and for the past two years, the Oxford Medical School course has topped the league tables for student satisfaction in the National Student Survey.

We are committed to providing an inclusive environment which promotes equality, values diversity and maintains a working, learning and social environment in which the rights and dignity of all its Athena Swanstaff and students are respected, to assist them in reaching their full potential.  The Athena SWAN Charter recognises commitment to advancing women's careers in science, technology, engineering, maths and medicine (STEMM) employment in higher education. All departments or units in the Division currently hold an Athena SWAN award with a divisional total of 13 Silver and 4 Bronze Athena SWAN awards. The principles and good practice associated with Athena SWAN are becoming embedded across the Division and we intend for all constituent departments to be at Silver standard by 2016.

Key Staff within the Medical Sciences Division

Head of the Division: Professor Alastair M Buchan

Regius Professor of Medicine: Professor Sir John Bell

Secretary of the Medical Sciences Division: Dr David Bryan


Associate Heads of Division

Heads of Department