Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Members of the Medical Sciences Division have been recognised in the New Year's Honours list for 2024

Radcliffe  Camera, All Souls and Brasenose College

Professor Molly Stevens, Neil Mortensen, Elizabeth Jane Robertsons and Matthew Snape have been recognised in the New Year's Honours list for 2024.

Professor Molly Stevens, John Black Professor of Bionanoscience at the Department of Physiology, Anatomy & Genetics and the Institute of Biomedical Engineering. She has been appointed Dame Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to Medicine.

‘I would like to thank my incredible team of researchers and staff who inspire me every day towards the mission of transforming healthcare through biomaterials technologies. All the advances that we have made into the design of new biosensing, therapeutics and regenerative medicine technologies are the result of strong teamwork both inside the lab and through to our external collaborators and key industrial partners. A key focus has been, and will continue to be, designing effective yet accessible technologies that can help in democratising access to healthcare.’

Professor Neil Mortensen, Professor of Colorectal Surgery at the University of Oxford Medical School, has been appointed a Knight Bachelor for services to Surgery. 

I am delighted to receive this honour on behalf of the surgical community and the Nuffield Department of Surgical Sciences. The last three years have been really tough for the delivery of surgical services and surgical research. Colleagues here in Oxford and around the country have shown remarkable leadership, innovation and resilience. Surgeons deserve the recognition implied in this honour and I am grateful to accept it on their behalf.’

Professor Liz Robertson, Professor of Developmental Biology and Wellcome Trust Principal Research Fellow at the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, has been appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE) for services to Medical Sciences.

‘I am delighted to have been given this award which recognises the importance of basic research in the field of stem cell and developmental biology.  This honour reflects the collective efforts of the current and past members of my research team as well as numerous friends and colleagues with whom I have had the pleasure of working over the course of my career.’

Professor Matthew Snape, was Professor of Paediatrics and Vaccinology at the OVG until moving to Moderna in August 2022. He has been appointed Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE) for services to Public Health, particularly during COVID-19 while working at the Oxford Vaccine Group (OVG). 

‘This is a such a wonderful honour, and I am delighted to receive this recognition. It is especially rewarding that this emphasises the importance of Public Health given the vital role that immunisation has in maintaining the health of the population. This work was only possible due to the wonderful team at the Oxford Vaccine Group, and my gratitude to my colleagues and friends there is profound and heartfelt.’

Congratulations also to Professor Roger James Goodman Professor of Japanese Studies appointed Commander of the Order of the British Empire (CBE). Professor Roger Heath- Brown, appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE). Professor Julia Mary Yeomans, Professor of Physics appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE). Professor Daniela BortolettoHead of Particle Physics  appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE).  Alexandra Vincent Divisional Registrar and Chief Operating Officer for the Humanities Divisio appointed Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE). Dorothy Margaret Whittington, Volunteer at Oxford University Newcomers, appointed Medallist of the Order of the British Empire (BEM)


Read the full story on the University of Oxford website.