Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Irene Tracey, CBE FRS FMedSci, presented the awards at a special ceremony at the Sheldonian Theatre.

Collage with images of the awardees

The winners of the 2024 Vice-Chancellor’s Awards were announced in the Sheldonian Theatre on Wednesday 8 May.

The Vice-Chancellor's Awards recognise the achievements and celebrate success across the University in a range of strategically important areas. There were 250 award entries across the 11 categories this year, with 1,500 individuals included in the nominations.

Shortlisted teams shared their work at a Showcase event at the Weston Library, and winning and highly commended nominations were revealed at a special ceremony at the Sheldonian Theatre. 

This year’s prizes/commendations were awarded to the following staff and initiatives from across the Medical Sciences Division:

    • The Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Contribution. Winner - Africa Oxford Initiative.
    • Innovative Teaching and Assessment Award. Highly Commended - A comprehensive self-directed online course in statistics for everyone – Nuffield Department of Population Health.
    • Inclusive Teaching and Assessment Award. Winner - Digital Synergy: Unleashing dynamic and inclusive anatomy education – Department of Physiology, Anatomy and Genetics (DPAG).
    • Research Engagement Award. Highly Commended - ‘Your Amazing Brain’: A university and regional museum partnership – Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging and Banbury Museum.
    • Innovation and Commercialisation Award. Winner -The R21/Matrix-M Malaria vaccine clinical development programme – Nuffield Department of Medicine; Highly Commended - The global dissemination of effective psychological treatments – Department of Psychiatry.
    • Research Culture Award. Winner - Improving research culture in the Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences (NDORMS), Oxford, and in the UK – Anjali Shah; Highly Commended - ‘The Hitchhiker’s guide to a Happier Lab’ – Wellcome Centre for Integrative Neuroimaging 
    • Enhancing Oxford’s Professional Services Award. Winner - Innovative leadership in transformation and delivery of Professional Services – Lesa Levett, Nuffield Department of Women's and Reproductive Health (NDWRH).
    • Commitment to Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award. Highly Commended - Medical Sciences Division Inclusive Leadership Programme; Athena Swan Self-Assessment Team Gold Award – Nuffield Department of Primary Care Health Sciences (NDPCHS); Commitment to Equality and Diversity in Data Science – Sara Khalid, Nuffield Department of Orthopaedics, Rheumatology and Musculoskeletal Sciences (NDORMS)

Congratulations to all of the winners and commended individuals and teams. Read more about the 2024 nominees.


 Vice-Chancellor Awards Logo 2024