Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Nominations/Applications for the 2015 Teaching Excellence Awards are now closed.

The next round of Teaching Excellence Awards will re-open in 2017.

In 2015 the following awards are made under the main and divisional accolades scheme:

I. Main Scheme

  1. Project awards provide funding for proposals to support the development of education.
  2. Individual and/or Team awards:
    1. Major Educator (funded) - Awarded to individuals who make an outstanding contribution to the development of education and/or leadership in education and/or other educational initiatives, within the Medical Sciences Division or at institutional level
    2. Excellent Teacher (titular) - Awarded to individuals who provide excellent teaching
    3. Early Career Excellent Teacher (titular) - Awarded to individuals who provide excellent teaching and who are within the first five years of their career as a University/NHS teacher (i.e. have no prior or otherwise demonstrable experience as a teacher in other sectors/from other institutions)
    4. Learning Support (funded) -  Awarded to non-teaching staff who have made a contribution to supporting teaching and learning activities significantly beyond that which would normally be expected in their role.

II. Divisional Accolades Scheme

  1. Lifetime Achievement (titular) - Awarded to staff who have demonstrated high quality and sustained commitment to education throughout their career in the service of Oxford (normally a minimum of 15 years or equivalent).
  2. Commendations (titular):
    1. Awarded for continued excellent contributions made by previous recipients of Excellent Teacher awards who reapply or who are renominated
    2. To reward high quality contributions to teaching. 

The Selection Panel reserves the right to redistribute applications/nominations to different categories within and between the Main Awards and Divisional Accolades schemes.