Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content
Muscle biopsy under a microscope © Rob Judges / Oxford University Images

This three-year programme is tailored specifically to the needs of talented clinicians who aspire to a career in academic medicine or clinical psychology. The course is also known as the DPhil in Biomedical and Clinical Sciences programme.  Successful applicants will work towards a DPhil within one of three streams which are in basic sciences, mental and cognitive health, and translational/experimental medicine.

Read the full Doctoral Training Fellowship Scheme for Clinicians course information on the University of Oxford admissions website.  N.B. A list of supervisors that are affiliated with this programme can be found below, however please note this is not a definitive list - any suitably qualified MSD supervisor may supervise fellows on the programme.

Core funding for the programme is provided by the Wellcome Trust.  In 2019 we have five Wellcome Trust fellowships available which will cover University and college fees at the home/EU rate, a clinical salary, and a research consumables allowance of £15,000 per annum.

The UK government has confirmed that EU students commencing their studies in 2019/20 will continue to have ‘Home’ fee status and pay fees at the home rate for the duration of their course.  For more information please see

Kennedy Trust Fellowships - New for 2019

Within the basic science and translational/experimental medicine streams The Kennedy Trust For Rheumatology Research will fund up to two posts per year for candidates wishing to explore research into diseases of the joints and related organs which include the processes of inflammation, damage and  repair.  While we are particularly keen for clinical rheumatologists to apply we are supportive of applicants from any medical or surgical discipline that have inflammation, damage and  repair as a key part of the pathogenic processes involved in their speciality.  

Examples would include gastroenterology, dermatology, respiratory medicine, cardiology, renal medicine, ophthalmology and hand and orthopaedic surgery. A key condition of the award will be the need for the candidates to perform their research based in the Kennedy Institute with a PI from the Kennedy and its affiliated researchers as one of their supervisors/sponsors.  A list of potential supervisors and their principal disease area of research can be found under Further Information.

Candidates must be medically or surgically qualified, with a strong academic record and evidence of interest in pursuing a research career (eg BSc or equivalent and/or research experience with publications).  It is envisaged that those appointed will have obtained MRCP or equivalent, but not CCT or consultant status. Candidates earlier in their training are encouraged to apply if they can show a strong prior academic background (for example graduate entry) and should have completed foundation year training and it would be preferential but not essential that they are eligible to undertake clinical practice in the UK. Therefore point of entry is flexible.  The overriding selection criterion will be the candidate’s excellence and potential as an academic clinician.  Preliminary enquiries to discuss individual circumstances are strongly encouraged by emailing



The following researchers are affiliated with this programme

Application Deadline

Closed to applications for 2019-20 entry.  The next admissions cycle, for entry to Oxford's graduate courses in 2020-21, will commence on 2 September 2019.

Supported by

  • Wellcome Trust (primary funding body)
  • The Kennedy Trust for Rheumatology Research
  • NIHR Oxford Biomedical Research Centre

Further Information