Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Medical Sciences Internal Fund is an internal fund that supports researchers who are employees of departments in the Medical Sciences Division, through four funding streams.


The bridging salary scheme provides short-term awards to cover the salary costs of research staff at postdoctoral and Early Career Researcher levels, who are currently employed by the University and funded on external research grants, while they seek long-term support, also from external sources. 

Read more about the Bridging Salary Scheme


The pump priming funding scheme accepts applications for small awards (up to £10k) to enable investigators to obtain pilot data to support larger scale applications for external research funding in the future. Non-staff research costs, including equipment, are eligible. Priority will be given to those applications that demonstrate matching funding from other sources.

Read more about the Pump Priming Scheme


The pre-fellowship scheme accepts applications for short-term (up to 3 months) funding to cover the salary costs of clinicians who will shortly begin an externally funded research training fellowship or DPhil at Oxford.

Read more about the Clinical Pre-Fellowship scheme


The Medical Sciences Internal Fund can be used for bridging salary support to cover the costs associated with research staff who take maternity/shared parental/adoption leave whilst employed on an externally funded research grant. Where the member of staff taking leave is the PI, support may be used to employ a lab manager or technician or to provide 'acting up' funds to a senior member of the group.

Read more about the Family Leave Support scheme



Funding for the Medical Sciences Internal Fund comes from the Nuffield Benefaction, the Goodger and Schorstein Fund and the Wellcome ISSF.  

For all enquiries please email


Chair: Professor Keith Channon

Secretary: Adelyn Wise

Professor Stephanie Cragg
Professor Matthew Freeman
Professor Paul Klenerman
Professor Chris Pugh