Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Oxford University's Stroke Prevention Research Unit has been awarded the Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher Education, the highest form of national recognition that UK higher education institutions can achieve. This is the ninth time that the University has been awarded the Prize, more than any other university.

The Stroke Prevention Research Unit was founded in 2000 by Professor Peter Rothwell to improve prevention of stroke and other chronic diseases in older people. It now comprises over 30 staff, is linked to a world-leading imaging facility, and runs several unique cohort studies in collaboration with 100 GPs in Oxfordshire. In 2013, the Unit evolved into the Centre for Prevention of Stroke and Dementia.

Read more