Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The following Medical School Prizes have been awarded in 2017:

Sir Richard Doll Essay Prize 2016/2017: George Gillett, for his essay entitled "Health promotion, autonomy and moral responsibility. Disentangling narratives amid epidemiological transition"

Hobson Mann Lovell Scholarship: The scholarship is awarded to students who are judged to have made outstanding progress on the clinical medical course. Winners include Emily Groves, Suzanne Dash, Raphael Rifkin-Zybutz, Craig Mounsey, George Sismey, Eleanor Grant, Amine Awad and George Wallis

Peter Tizard Prize for Paediatrics (Year 5 / Year 3 Graduate Entrry): Mr Amine Awad (St Anne’s College)

Cardiology Essay Prize 2017: Jessica Neilan, St Catherine’s College.  Jessica is a 3rd Year Graduate Entry Medical Student.  Her essay was entitled "Health Care Inequalities Between the Genders for Ischaemic Heart Disease”

Matilda Tambyraja Prize in Obstetrics & Gynaecology 2016/17 (Year 5/ Graduate Entry Year 3): Alethea Peters, Worcester College

Sir John Stallworthy Prize 2016/17: For the best performance by a student in clinical obstetrics and gynaecology (Year 5): Joe O’Sullivan, Merton College

R.B. Duthie Prize in Orthopaedic Surgery 2016/17: For best performance by a student in 5th Year/Graduate Entry 3rd Year Orthopaedics: Jamie Mawhinney, Balliol College and Abhijeet Tavare, Balliol College

Meakins McClaran Medal 2017: Prize awarded for the outstanding overall performance of a student graduating with the degrees of BM BCh (Oxon) (2nd BM Clinical Medicine course): Harriet Brown, Green Templeton College

L J Witts Prize in Haematology or Gastroenterology 2017: Krithi Ravi, Green Templeton College

Sidney Truelove Prize in Gastroenterology 2017: Owen Duffey, Green Templeton College

Renwick Vickers Prize in Dermatology: Antonio Ji Xu for his essay ‘Sunlight, skin cancer and Vitamin D: from evolution to civilisation’

Sir Roger Bannister Neurology Prize: For performance in the Year 5 Medical Student Neurology attachment: Ralitsa Slivkova, Christ Church College, and Matthew Tranter, Green Templeton College. 

Clinical School Year 4 General Practice Essay Prize 2017: Awarded jointly to Emily Davenport, Green Templeton College, and Calum McIntyre, Somerville College. Runners Up: Nadia Chaudhury, Magdalen College; Elizabeth Fox, University College; Willow Fox, St Hugh’s College; and Harriet Loney, Green Templeton College.  

Preliminary Examination in Medicine Prizes

Martin Wronker Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine Part I: Ianthe Schepel, Harris Manchester College 

Martin Wronker Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine Part II: Dr William Pettersson-Yeo, Magdalen College 

Martin Wronker Proxime Accessit Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine Part II: William Sargent, Somerville College 

OSCE Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine Part I: Aaron Simpson, Somerville College 

OSCE Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine Part II: William Sargent, Somerville



The Examiners in the Second Examination for the Degrees of Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery in Year 3 have awarded the following prizes:

George Pickering 2017: Claire Peet, Magdalen College

Margaret Harris Memorial Prize 2017: Emily McFiggans, Green Templeton College

Ledingham Prize in Medicine 2017: Harsh Samarendra, Green Templeton College

Mortensen Prize in Surgery 2017: Jonathan Raby, New College