Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Medical School is pleased to announce the following prize winners: 

The Clinical School Year 4 General Practice Essay Prize

Awarded to:

  • Zain Abbas Syed, Christ Church College
  • Grace Barnes, Somerville College

Runners up:

  • Ronan Llyr, Green Templeton College
  • Sarah Richardson, Corpus Christi College
  • Aaron Hundle, New College

Peter Tizard Prize in Paediatrics 2015/16

For best performance in Year 5 Paediatrics

  • Claire Peet, Magdalen College
  • Proxime accessit Yi Yi Chua, Green Templeton College

Roger Bannister Prize in Neurology 2016

For outstanding performance in the Year 5 Neurology

  • Harsh Samarendra, Green Templeton College
  • Proxime accessit Thomas Aquilina, Balliol College

Meakins McClaran Medal 2016

Prize awarded for the outstanding overall performance of a student graduating with the degrees of BM, BCh (Oxon).

  • Nicholas Black, Merton College

Brian Johnson Essay in Pathology Prize 2016 

  • First Prize:   Amine Awad, St Anne’s College.  
  • Second Prize: Craig Mounsey, Magdalen College. 

Geoffrey Hill Spray Prize in Clinical Biochemistry 2016

  • Phillip Oddie, Green Templeton College.

R.B. Duthie Prize in Orthopaedic Surgery 2015/16 and 2014/15

For best performance in Year 5 Orthopaedics:

Joint winners 2015/16:

  • Jawaad Farrukh, Green Templeton College
  • Jennifer Southern, Green Templeton College

Winner 2014/15: 

  • James Kimpton, Green Templeton College

Sir John Stallworthy Prize 2015/16

For Best Clinical Performance, Year 5 Obstetrics & Gynaecology

  •  Henry Hughes, Magdalen College                                                                                  

Matilda Tambyraja Prize 2015/16 

For Best Written Performance, Year 5 Obstetrics & Gynaecology

  • Jamie Arberry, Green Templeton College    

Cardiology Essay Prize 2016

  •  Brett Kennedy, Worcester College

John Potter Essay Prize 2016

For an essay on a clinical neurosurgical, neurological or neuropathological topic

  • Emeka Okonji, Brasenose College

University of Iowa Exchange Scholarship for 2017

  • Katherine Birse, Lincoln College
  • Gabriel Trueblood, St Peter’s College

Martin Wronker Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine

  • Part I: William Sargent, Somerville
  • Part II: George Wallis, Keble

OSCE Prize for Preliminary Examination in Medicine

  • Part I: William Pettersson-Yeo, Magdalen
  • Part II: Eleanor Grant, Somerville

Hobson Mann Lovel scholarships

  • Harriet Brown, Green Templeton
  • Emily McFiggans, Green Templeton
  • Claire Peet, Magdalen
  • Dominic Ballard, Green Templeton
  • Mila Roode, Keble
  • Yi Yi Chua, Green Templeton
  • Jamie Arberry, Green Templeton
  • Bethany Kingston, Corpus Christi