Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

A group photo of Teaching Excellence Awards winners from 2021 and 2022

The 2022 Teaching Excellence Awards Ceremony took place in the Bernard Sunley Lecture Theatre, St Catherine’s College, on Tuesday 25th October 2022. The Ceremony celebrated Teaching Excellence Award winners from both 2021 and 2022. It was hosted by the Head of Division, Professor Gavin Screaton, the Associate Head of Division (Education), Professor David Vaux, and the Head of Education Policy and Planning, Jane Dale.

The Teaching Excellence Awards recognise and reward excellence in teaching, supervision, the organisation and development of teaching, and support for teaching and learning, within a research-intensive environment. They formally acknowledge significant educational achievements, reward individuals who have exceeded expectations in carrying out their duties, and support the aspirations of those who wish to innovate and enhance our educational provision.

In 2021 the number of nominations and awardees reached their highest levels so far, added to by the addition of a Project-only awards round in 2022, a new system to allow for more timely funding of projects. The first Ceremony since 2019 due to the pandemic, attendance was over 120 people and included families, friends, colleagues and students all coming together in celebration to support the occasion.

During the ceremony we heard from 2019 Project awardee winners Dr Esther Park and Dr Andrew Soltan on Specialty Referrals and 2021 Project Awardee winner Dr Alison Convey on An Innovative Pilot Scheme proposal for Clinical Teaching in Year 3 of the Medical Degree. Major Educator award winner Professor Helen Higham gave an inspiring speech on the history of OxSTaR, and progress and benefits capitalised on throughout the pandemic and beyond. The second Major Educator speech was given by Professor David Greaves who spoke about his 20 years of teaching and the major elements that have been integral to his success. David and the TRAMP model (Teaching, Research, Administration, Mentoring and Pastoral Care) were very well received by the audience.

It was exhilarating to get together for an Awards evening after a gap of three years, for a moving and uplifting celebration of the outstanding work of the Awardees.

We would like to again congratulate all the winners of the 2021 and 2022 awards.

A collage image of the awardees winning receiving their awards