Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

Deleting an item from your Deleted Items folder doesn't immediately permanemently delete the email as there is a recovery period. You will also need to purge it from the recoverable items before it is permanently deleted. This shows you how to do this in Outlook 2016 and Nexus365 (Outlook365).

Outlook 2016

 Screenshot showing location of the deleted items folder

  1. Go to your Deleted Items folder
  2. Select the item for permanent deletion and delete using the normal delete button or key.

You will see a message telling you that the item is going to be permanently deleted. Click Yes.

 

 Screenshot showing the location of the Recover items from the server button

The email is, however, still recoverable at this point. To remove it completely:

Click Recover Deleted Items from Server.

 

 Screenshot showing the items for deletion pop up

  1. Select the item for deletion
  2. Select Purge Selected Items
  3. Click OK

You will then see a warning message that you are about to permanently delete the item and that you won't be able to recover the item. Click OK to delete the item.

Nexus365 (Outlook365)

 Screenshot showing the deleted items folder in Outlook online

  1. Go to your Deleted Items folder
  2. Select the item(s) for permanent deletion
  3. Click Delete

You will see a message asking you if you wish to permanently delete the item. Click OK.

 

 Screenshot of warning message that you might still be able to recover deleted items

Click the Recover deleted items button.

 

 Screenshot showing location of the delete icon

  1. Select the item(s) for permanent deletion
  2. Click Delete

You will see a warning message telling you that you are about to delete the items and won't be able to recover them. Click OK.