Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

Gavin Screaton

I would like to take this opportunity to congratulate the following Medical Sciences researchers who have been elected as Fellows of the Royal Society and of the Academy of Medical Sciences, for their exceptional contributions to science. This is a wonderful achievement and truly highlights what a terrifically talented group of staff we have here in the Division.

Fellows of the Royal Society

Fellows of the Academy of Medical Sciences

  • Professor Colin Baigent, Director, MRC Population Health Research Unit, Nuffield Department of Population Health
  • Professor Philip Bejon, Director, KEMRI Welcome Trust Research Programme, and Professor of Tropical Medicine, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Professor Sarah C Darby Professor of Medical Statistics, Nuffield Department of Population Health
  • Professor Helen McShane, Director, Oxford NIHR Biomedical Research Centre and Professor of Vaccinology, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Professor Richard Price, Professor of Global Health and Senior Principal Research Fellow, Menzies School of Health Research, and Professor of Tropical Medicine, Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine
  • Professor Alison Simmons, Professor of Gastroenterology at the Nuffield Department of Clinical Medicine and MRC Human Immunology Unit
  • Professor Ann (Sarah) Walker, Professor of Medical Statistics and Epidemiology, Nuffield Department of Population Health.

I’d also like to congratulate the Department of Biochemistry, the Sir William Dunn School of Pathology, the Nuffield Department of Population Health and the Nuffield Department of Women’s and Reproductive Health for renewing their Silver Athena SWAN Award. A lot of time and effort goes into these applications and I would like to thank all those involved and wish you all continued success in this area. 

There have been a number of estate-related developments recently, including ongoing work in the Science Area on completion of the Biochemistry building and the Tinbergen redevelopment. You may also have noticed the recent news about the sale of Oxford University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust land to the University. While there are no immediate plans for the site, this investment from the University is a very encouraging development for Medical Sciences, and we look forward to working with the Trust on the longer-term plans for the site.

Finally, as many of you are well aware Oxford has recognised strengths in global health research, with much breadth, depth and diversity of research across all divisions. It is one of my objectives to help coordinate this activity, and with this in mind I have begun to engage with staff from across the University, in Oxford, at our overseas units and with external partners, seeking ideas collectively for how to bring our activity together. It is clear to me that through collaboration and coordination we can be much more than the sum of our parts, and my hope is that by creating a network of global health researchers we can build on our successes and continue to impact positively on global challenges. I look forward to working on this initiative with you much more in the coming years.

Professor Gavin Screaton, Head of Division