Cookies on this website

We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Accept all cookies' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. If you click 'Reject all non-essential cookies' only necessary cookies providing core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility will be enabled. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The University of Oxford has been invited to submit one application for the Sir Jules Thorn Award for Biomedical Research and to nominate three excellent biomedical researchers to apply for the Academy of Medical Sciences Springboard Scheme. Those wishing to apply for these schemes should submit an Expression Of Interest (EOI) by Friday 23 September for Jules Thorn and Wednesday 19 October for Springboard. Details on how to submit an EOI can be found on the University Co-ordinated bids page.

The Sir Jules Thorn Award offers up to £1.5 million to an outstanding researcher in the early years of an established research career to conduct research for patient benefit.

The Springboard Scheme offers a bespoke package of support to biomedical researchers at the start of their first independent post to help launch their research careers, including funding of up to £100,000. Last year two of Oxford’s three nominated applicants were successful, Dr Molly Crockett and Dr Maike Bublitz. The Springboard Champion for the University is Professor Irene Tracey.

Nominations for both Sir Jules Thorn and Springboard will be made following review of all applications by the relevant peer review panels. Any questions about the application process should be directed to