Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.
Skip to main content

The Board’s Research and Innovation Committee is responsible for considering matters relating to research planning and infrastructure, and innovation.

The functions of the Research and Innovation Committee and the Finance and Physical Capital Committee have been incorporated into the Finance, Research and General Purpose Committee for a trial period. 


Chair: Professor Keith Channon

Secretary: Leila Whitworth


Professor Mark Sansom
Professor Sir John Bell
Professor Chas Bountra
Professor Andrew Carr
Professor Sir Rory Collins
Professor Chris Conlon
Professor Matthew Freeman
Professor Nigel Emptage
Professor John Geddes
Professor Freddie Hamdy
Professor Richard Hobbs
Professor Georg Holländer
Professor Gavin Screaton
Professor Stephen Kennedy
Professor Mark Middleton
Professor Kia Nobre
Professor David Paterson
Professor Alison Simmons
Professor Irene Tracey
Professor Hugh Watkins

Dr Richard Liwicki
Dr Paul Ashley
Dr Maxine Allen


Please see the Finance, Research, and General Purposes Committee page. 

TErms of reference

The committee shall be responsible, under the Medical Sciences Board, for the following matters, making recommendations to the Board as appropriate:

  • Research strategy and planning
    • Developing theme-specific strategic plans
    • The research section of the Division’s Five-Year Plan
    • The organisation and management of research within the Division
    • The relationships of the Division with key research partners
    • Reviewing and endorsing proposals for major new research initiatives
  •  Evaluation of research
    • Developing divisional policies in relation to the Research Excellence Framework
    • Prioritisation (as necessary) of research proposals for internal and external funding bodies
    • Reviewing the results of University investment in major new research initiatives
  •  Innovation
    • Developing a strategic plan for innovation, including implementation of the University Innovation Strategy
    • The organisation and management of innovation within the Division, including input to strategy of Oxford University Innovation’s and the MSD Business Development Team
  • Oversight of divisional research infrastructure and services (e.g. Biomedical Services), as required
  • Advising the Board on policies which promote the responsible conduct of research and meet the relevant regulatory requirements and on the management of risk associated with these issues
  • Interactions on behalf of the Division with the Research Committee of Council and research planning activities of other divisions when delegated to do so by the Medical Sciences Board.

To view the current and past agenda/papers, please contact Leila Whitworth.