Cookies on this website
We use cookies to ensure that we give you the best experience on our website. If you click 'Continue' we'll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies and you won't see this message again. Click 'Find out more' for information on how to change your cookie settings.

The Board’s Educational Policy and Standards Committee is responsible for oversight of the curriculum of its taught degree programmes, definition and implementation of its teaching policies, maintenance and enhancement of standards and the conduct of divisional educational reviews.


Chair: Professor David Paterson

Secretary: Jane Dale

Professor Buchan
Professor Vaughan-Jones
Professor Ferguson
Dr Bannon
Dr Spensley (until TT 2018)
Dr Sullivan (until TT 2016)
Dr Maike Glitsch (MT 2015 - TT 2017)
Dr Wee (until TT 2015)
Professor Nation (until TT 2015)

Student members:
Raj Dattani (until TT2016)

Co-opted members:
Dr Wormald (until TT 2015)
Professor Clark (until TT 2015)
Professor Pugh (until TT 2015)

2017 Meeting dates

  • 3 March
  • 9 June
  • 24 November

Terms of reference

The committee shall be responsible under the Medical Sciences Board for: 

  1. developing educational policy, and teaching and learning strategies;
  2. maintaining oversight of the range of educational provision within the Division;
  3. reviewing the broad policy aspects of proposals for new undergraduate and postgraduate courses, and major changes to existing courses in the context of the Division’s five-year plans and the University;
  4. making recommendations to the Board with regard to new educational initiatives including external collaborations;
  5. maintaining integrated oversight of the organisation, development and delivery of curricula within the division at both undergraduate and postgraduate level;
  6. responding to consultations and communications on educational policy from within the University and from external bodies such as the GMC and QAA;
  7. keeping under review the arrangements and procedures within units for the assurance and enhancement of educational quality and standards and consistency of practice (where appropriate) with regard to both undergraduate studies (including joint schools) and graduate studies;
  8. keeping under review ways of promoting educational collaboration across the division;
  9. defining and keeping under review divisional policies in respect of:
    1. access and admissions;
    2. curriculum design and course structure;
    3. teaching, learning, and assessment;
    4. academic and pastoral support and guidance;
    5. provision of learning resources; and
    6. staff development relevant to teaching.
  10. Approving the terms of reference and membership of panels for educational reviews, and to receive and respond to review reports
  11. Receiving the reports of its advisory bodies – the Undergraduate Studies Committee, the Graduate Studies Committee, the Audit Committee, the Educational Technology Steering Group – and advice from the Postgraduate Dean. 

To view the current and past agenda/papers, please contact the Chair.